Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle Cake… Raphael!

I made this bad boy for my fiancés birthday. Not only was it fun to make, but it was delicious and disappeared in under 2 minutes!

image

The base is three layers of chocolate cake, with a creamy chocolate fudge buttercream between each layer and covering the whole cake.

The recipe for the cake is as follows:

100g dark chocolate needs to be 70% cocoa solids, worth spending a little more here!
225g light brown sugar
200ml whole fat milk
75g unsalted butter
2 eggs
25g cocoa powder
125g pain gluten free flour I use doves farm bread flour as it already has Xantham Gum
1tsp baking powder
1tsp bicarbonate of soda
Pinch of salt
1tsp vanilla extract

Heart the oven to 180°C and grease your sandwich tins.
Very gently in a saucepan melt the dark chocolate with the milk and 75g of the sugar. Once the mixture is smooth and even remove it from the heat and leave it to cool a little.
Beat the rest of the sugar with the butter until pale and creamy before slowly adding the eggs.
Once your chocolate milk has cooled enough to not cook the eggs, you can add it to the bowl. Whisk it until completely combined, then add the vanilla and salt.
Lastly sift in the cocoa, flour, baking powder and bicarbonate of soda. At this stage, if your batter is too liquid you could add another spoonful of flour. You want the mixture to be pourable but thick.

image

Bake in the oven for around 25-30 minutes, until a skewer comes out clean. As always, I recommend letting cakes cool in the tins for 5 minutes before putting them onto a wire rack until completely cool.

image

While you’re waiting for them to cool, make the chocolate fudge frosting!

Cover each layer in buttercream and layer them up. Then pile the rest on the top and try to make a rounded finish.

image

This is how mine ended up. I made it a little thin on bottom to give thicker covering on top. You could easily stop here, serve and enjoy if you’re making a cake for a more mature audience… Our guests loved the cake and several couldn’t believe it was gluten free!

Finally! Time for the decor!

I used tesco ready rolled fondant icing in green, red and black, and made white icing for the eyes.

image

image

First off, I rolled out the green. I had to go really thin, and barely had any to spare, so next time I think I’d do a smaller cake (2 layers not 3) or buy two packs.

Next, I made Raphaels red eye mask and laid it on top. I was originally going to cut out the eyes so that I could pour in white icing, but it was too fragile when I tried to move it, even using a rolling pin. Instead I just made the shape and make really thick white icing that I could shape in my fingers. I used a pastry brush dipped in water to stick the different colours together.

image

The black icing was the last bit to add! It’s worth mentioning that black icing will stain your other colours, particularly once it’s wet, so dont touch anything else until you’re happy with your shapes! To make the smile I rolled the icing a little thicker and cut a semi circle. I then pinched the ends and folded them to make little cheek lines. Lastly I rolled really long thin sausages of black to use as outlines, to keep it cartoony!

image

This is the final product! The green fondant isn’t smooth, which is so annoying, but turtles have rough skin I’m sure….

I’d love to see pictures and instructions for your novelty cakes, share them in the comments below!

Liv x

Leave a Reply

