Genius Gluten Free Pain au Chocolat

I bought these gluten free pain au Chocolat from Genius on a whim because they were on offer in Waitrose.

image

They come par-baked so you just have to pop them in a hot oven for 9-10 minutes.
I had pretty low expectations for these because I hadn’t heard anything about them, and you know how we coeliacs like to rave about tasty food options!
I was so impressed with the taste and texture of them though!
This is how it looked once I’d baked it. The top is flakey and yummy.

image

image

As you can see, there is a layer inside where the dough isn’t quite cooked enough, not raw but not flakey like the rest. This is personal taste but I loved it! The chocolate inside doesn’t taste cheap and artificial, as far as I can remember it tastes just like the real thing.
I highly recommend these and will definitely be grabbing two more next time I’m in Waitrose. At around £2 for a pack of two they aren’t exactly cheap so I won’t be switching to these for breakfast any time soon, but for a treat now and again I’ll definitely indulge.

image

What do you think of these? Has anyone tried the croissants? Let me know in the comments below.

Liv x

Leave a Reply

