Gluten Free Banana Loaf in a Breadmaker

Ok so I have to start this post with a confession… I don’t have any photos of this banana loaf whole. I got too excited and ate a ‘small’ portion before I remembered to take some snaps.

image

I love this banana loaf because it’s so easy and quick, and it makes a great revision snack during my mid afternoon lull. And the mid morning lull. And post lunch and…well, you get the picture.

So I ended up with some old bananas that I couldn’t possibly eat.

image

I’m super fussy about my bananas. Mainly because I love banana bread. I got an amazing bread Machine for Christmas a couple years ago, and it’s so useful for things like this. Just chuck in and mix the ingredients, set the timer and off you go! Or, if you’re like me, you stay in the room and check it every five minutes.

image

You can check out reviews for this Breadmaker here, but I love it to bits!
Partly because it has a gluten free setting that actually seems to work.

So the recipe I used is this:
260g plain GF flour (I use Doves Farm)
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
150g caster sugar
3 tablespoons oil (vegetable is best)
2 eggs
3 bananas

Smush your bananas and chuck everything into your breadmaker. I suggest you sieve your flour to make it easier to mix.

image

The mixture will seem pretty dry at first when you try to give it a little mix

image

This is after I’d had a good go with the spatula. I put the machine on to a setting with a good mix cycle like dough for 2 minutes, then scrape down the sides and bottom with a spatula. Don’t forget to check the corners and top of the mixer blade for unmixed flour lumps! Then I give it another minute or so before setting it to bake only.

image

I let this bake for an hour and five minutes, then spread some nutella on a slice while it was still warm.

Heaven. And it has fruit in it and is a loaf not a cake, so I can convince myself it’s healthy!

What do you guys think of Breadmakers? I really don’t use mine enough, I’d love links to any of your recipes in the comments!

Olivia x

Leave a Reply

