Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcakes

For my housemates birthday I made some delicious chocolate cupcakes to go with my pink lemonade cupcakes.

image

The cupcakes are chocolate with a chocolate buttercream frosting, decorated with white chocolate hearts and (gluten free) hundreds and thousands.

The recipe I used for the cakes is a pretty simple one:

250g butter
250g golden caster sugar (regular would be fine too)
250g plain flour sieved – I use Doves farm
1tsp baking powder
4 large eggs
4 tbsp cocoa powder sieved

Preheat the oven to 180°C. I mixed the butter and sugar in my mixer, added the flour a spoonful at a time with each egg, then add the rest of the flower, baking powder and the cocoa powder. Thats why I love these cakes, so quick and easy, and great if you want to involve little ones!

image

This makes a nice, thick mixture. I spooned it into some pretty cupcake cases I got for Christmas, and baked for 15 minutes.

image

The cakes rose nicely and were pretty even so I got straight to decorating them! First I made some thick chocolate frosting.

image

I used:

170g of butter that is room temperature
350g sieved icing sugar
4 tbsps sieved cocoa powder
milk to get the right consistency

If you’re using a mixer like me, use a fork to squash the butter into the icing sugar before you turn the blender on and add 1 tablespoon of milk on top to try and minimise the amount of icing sugar that goes all over your kitchen! I ended up adding a little more milk to get the icing to the right consistency for piping, but this will depend on preferance and the temperature of your butter.

I made a little piping bag out of baking paper and used a wide nozzle to pipe a little swirl of icing on the top of each cake.

image

Unfortunately I had an icing DISASTER but I had already done most of the cakes, so I just smeared the rest of em like I did when I was 5, and gobbled them up as ‘taste tests’.

To finish off I added some gluten free pink pearly hundreds and thousands and a chocolate heart to each cake. I used pink hearts to tie in with the pink lemonade cupcakes I made at the same time (link above).

image

Ét Voilà! Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcakes for the birthday girl.

image

What’s your go-to cupcake recipe? Let me know in the comments.

OK2B x

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Jenni301 February 18, 2015 / 11:05 pm

    Oooh they look delicious! I love “taste tests”, my fave part of baking!

    Liked by 1 person

    • btgpe February 19, 2015 / 6:06 pm

      A girl after my own heart! Couldn’t serve our loved ones food we hadn’t tasted now could we? 😉 x

      Like

Leave a Reply

