Gluten Free Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

My housemates birthday is today and we always make cakes for eachother. I had to make the cakes back home and travel back to London on the train with them, so I figured cupcakes would be easiest.

image

I made pink lemonade cupcakes with lemon frosting, and chocolate cupcakes with chocolate frosting.

For the pink lemonade cupcakes I decided just to make lemon cupcakes and add some pink food dye. I wish I could say they were cleverer than this, but they taste good and look cute so that’s all that matters… right? I tried a new recipe. You can see the original here.

I found the recipe surprisingly liquid which worried me as I was putting the cakes in the oven.

image

The little lumps you can see are lemon zest, and I’ve added some pink food colouring. I wish I’d added more, the cakes were barely pink when they came out the oven.

Once baked, I got to decorate them. I went for a (brighter) pink lemon buttercream.

The recipe for this was as follows:

225g icing sugar
85g butter left out to soften
About a teaspoonful of finely grated lemon zest
2 tablespoons of lemon juice
food colouring as needed

If, like me, you use a mixer to do everything, I recommend blending the butter and sugar a little by hand, and adding the liquid on top so that the icing sugar doesn’t make a cloud inside your kitchen.

image

This is pre colouring. Whenever I make cupcakes I always have these grand visions of beautiful piping, only to remember that I threw away my reusable piping bag and only have the nozzles left in my baking cupboard. I usually end up woth cakes smeared with icing looking very unappealing.

However, this time I was determined that they should look as good as I am able to make them. I had a brainwave and decided to use some baking paper to make the piping bag. This is so easy I hate myself for not working it out sooner!

image

Literally just fold your baking paper into a triangle, selotape the outside together (making sure the tape goes all the way down), cut off the tip and insert a nozzle of your choice. Pack it with frosting and twist it from the top down and you’re good to go!

image

I piped a little icing in the middle, sprinkled on some (gluten free) pearly hundreds and thousands and added a dark chocolate heart.

image

Et voila! Check out my chocolate cupcake recipe too!

Share your ideas for birthday cupcakes in the comments below!

OK2B x

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

    • btgpe February 19, 2015 / 6:05 pm

      Thanks! She loved them, as did our other housemates! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

