Gluten Free Chocolate Button Cake

A friend of mine got married recently, and for the reception she asked some of her guests to bake a cake to bring and share with everyone. It was a lovely idea, saved her some money and we all had a TON of cake to eat on the big day.

image

I wanted to make something tasty and fun, because the bride is tiny, adorable and a little mental. So I made a chocolate button cake!

Here it is! I wanted it to be bright and fun, I was really proud of how it came out.

Inside the cake was a dark chocolate cake, three layers with white chocolate butter cream between the layers. I’ll include the recipe below. It was deeelicious even if I do say so myself.

You’ll need to start making the chocolate buttons the day before you want to bake the cake, unless you have a ton of moulds. I used a silicone mould from Lakeland.

image

The link is here.
Each time you use the mould you make 14 cute, different buttons.

image

However , be warned that a fair few of them will break when you get them out. The mould is really meant for fondant icing, so it’s thick and you have to bend it to pop the buttons out. Personally I quite like the broken ones and used some on the cake as the wedding was going for a shabby chic theme.

To make the buttons I melted some white chocolate in the microwave and very slowly added food colouring, stirring as I went. Originally I wanted to make a plain white cake with bright buttons on, but adding enough colour to make the buttons bright made the chocolate go hard and crumbly, so I decided to go for a bright background and pastel buttons. I melted the chocolate in small amounts as I didnt want to keep remelting it as each lot set to refill the mould. I learned it’s pretty important to remove extra chocolate from the top of the mould or the buttons are more likely to break. I used a silicone spatula to do this. Eventually I had a ton of buttons set in the fridge.

Now the fun part… decorating!
I bought some bright yellow ready to roll icing and rolled it as smooth and thin as I could. I knew the cake was already pretty sweet so I didnt want too much icing on top of that. I used apricot jam to stick the icing to the cake, and then used a little more on the back of each button to stick it to the cake.

image

image

I finished it off with a blue ribbon and put the extra buttons on the plate round the cake.

image

Recipe

250g Butter, at room temperature
250g Caster Sugar
250g Gluten Free Self-Raising Flour (I use Doves Farm)
4 Eggs
1 tablespoon of Vanilla Extract
3 tablespooms of Cocoa Powder

Cream the butter and sugar together then add the eggs one by one with a spoonful of flour. Add the cocoa and vanilla extract. Bake in a greased tin at 190°C for 20 mins or until a knife comes out clean.

White chocolate cream

110g unsalted butter, at room temperature
250g icing sugar
150g white chocolate

Mix the butter and sugar together, then add the melted white chocolate. If it seems too thick add a little semi-skimmed milk to give it the consistency you’re after.

Are you going to have a go? Any other fun decorative moulds you’ve discovered? Let me know in the comments below!

OK2B x

One thought on “Gluten Free Chocolate Button Cake

Leave a Reply

