Christmas Baking

I love to bake. I also love to eat. I really love to eat. I am terrible at cooking, but my baking usually goes right.
I have coeliac disease,  so all my baking is gluten free. I will share some posts with my favourite recipes soon. For now though,  I just wanted to share some pictures of my last two christmas bakes.
I love being creative with the decoration. My dad told me last year about how much he loved his dads christmas cakes, because they always had a really creative scene on them with some wow factor. My grandad died before I was one, so I never got to witness any of these amazing cakes, but I wanted to have a go to surprise my dad last year.

image

This was my first attempt! It. Took. Hours.

image

I chose penguins because I figured they would be the easiest to make out of ready made icing.
image

I couldn’t find any orange though so I spent about 20 minutes kneading orange food dye into white ready made icing and adding more icing sugar to keep the right consistency while getting even colour. Penguin problems.

image

I made the ice hole using blue sugar crystals, and carved the side of the igloo with a skewer to make it look like ice blocks. To get the shape of the igloo I actually baked a small fruit cake that size and shape using a tiny glass bowl, then covered it in marzipan and icing. To make the door I used a blob of black icing left over from the penguins and folded a thin layer of white icing over the top. I was pretty pleased with how it all turned out!
The cake went down very well with my dad, so I decided to make another this year. I went for a chocolate log instead of a Christmas cake:

image

I made one long thin cake added the filling and rolled it into one long roulade, then I cut it about a third down at a 45 degree angle. I used the smaller part to make a branch then evened out the end of the main bit. That gave me a triangle for ‘taste testing’ which is a vital part of all my baking. Because I love to eat, did I mention that? I used a skewer to make my approximation of a wood pattern, and then piped on the holy just because I wanted some colour in the cake. I think it turned out pretty well!

image

I left the ends uncovered with butter icing because I was secretly proud of the swirl. That’s right, I have too little in my life to be proud of. Must accomplish more.

Merry Christmas! Happy Feasting!

OK2B x

2 thoughts on “Christmas Baking

  1. mmbishop94 January 6, 2015 / 10:02 pm

    Awesome cakes and that they are gluten free! I love the penguins 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. btgpe January 19, 2015 / 9:34 am

    Thanks! It was a lot of fun to make 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

